Hare and Hounds
Real ale, Fine food and Family fun for Claygate

info@thehareandhounds-claygate.co.uk
The Hare and Hounds, The Green
Claygate, Surrey KT10 0JL
01372 465149

Reviews

We would love to hear about your experience at The Hare & Hounds.



Had a very pleasant evening with my wife and daughter during the first day of the July Beer Festival.
Mary had a cheeseburger which was excellent, as usual. I had a very well cooked and attractive fish and chips. My wife's Pinot Grigio and my local cider were both served chilled. Great atmosphere in the beautiful garden too!
Gary S - Trip Advisor (20 July 2014)

We had dinner yesterday and it was wonderful. The garden was busy but the food arrived in good time and was hot.
My 11 year old said "the roast was nearly as good as her grannies". Let me tell you that that that was praise indeed.
There were children, dogs, and adults of all ages exactly how it should be on a Summer's Day in England.
Well done to all the staff at the H&H.

We will return
Seansvo - Trip Advisor (14 July 2014)

We returned last night for supper thinking that our previous experience would be hard to match. We were wrong. It was fantastic. Possibly even better then before.
The outside tables were full ( it was a lovely evening ) and the bar tables were almost all full too. Again , there was a really warm ambience about the place , with a mixture of groups, couples, and families.
We had goats cheese with beetroot to start ( very tasty and good to see a kitchen brave enough to serve up different varieties of beetroot ) , my wife then had Thai mussels and I had the sea bream ( again - see previous review !! ) . Both were excellent but I think what makes the meals so very good here is the quality of the wine list.
This time we tried the Gewurtztraminer which, at about 30 quid has to be one of the best bargains in Claygate. It complimented both mains, but especially the mussels , perfectly.
I had also spotted a good looking Sancerre at roughly the same price which will have to wait till next time though. In fact there are several really good looking bottles on there so I guess it will need a few more visits :-) Shame that other local pubs and restaurants don't pay as much attention to their wines and focus on ordinary " house " wines which sell primarily based on cost.
Or that customers don't encourage establishments to be more adventurous by choosing beyond what happens to be the cheapest on the list. We always find that for just a " few dollars more " you can be drinking absolutely fantastic wines and the Hare bears that out. Others are probably thinking the same thing because I did notice a lot of bottles/ glasses of wine being sold at the bar.
An added bonus was falling into conversation with some really nice folk who we then chatted away to for ages. It's that sort of place. Can't wait to go back. Hmmm. Wonder what we're doing this evening...
ClaygateFoodie - Trip Advisor (28 June 2014)

"Excellent pub food" - We often drink in the H & H but last week we ate there for the first time. And it certainly won't be the last. We started with the pate and the beetroot with goats cheese. Both were very good and to be recommended. For mains we had the steak and aubergine bake. The aubergine was voted one of the best ever! We washed it all down with London Pride and an excellent bottle of Portuguese red. What's not to love!
The waitress was delightful and honestly couldn't have been more friendly and attentive.
The place could do with a lick of paint and a bit of updating, but in a way that adds to the charm. Also, the front garden is a great sun-trap in the early evening.
FlyingHighLondon - Trip Advisor (29 May 2014)

"Good thing we arrived earlyish" - Staying up the road at The Foley, their menu looked nice but everything very calorific, so walked through the Monday evening downpour to the Hare and Hounds which had smaller dishes, sharing plates, lighter bites. It was packed and buzzy, people stuffing envelopes I think, elections in the offing. Fortunately there was a table free and we were served promptly. Fantastic offering, my husband had grilled goat's cheese and beetroot, I had duck confit with salad, then Thai mussels for me and a rump steak for him. All hot and fresh, beautifully presented, in appropriate sized portions. A glass of wine each, no room for puds, very good value. Heartily recommend it!
MelFinch - Trip Advisor (15 May 2014)

Nick.. fabulous meal last night with my family. Food was top class, great service and good beer and wine. Perfect! Cheers
@mikebenns - Twitter (10 May 2014)

Another wonderful night - We attended a Charity race night at the Hare and Hounds last Thursday evening and we had such an wonderful time ! The racing was fun and it was great to raise money for a local charity. Nick and his team as always did a suburb job and it was great to place a bet, eat delicious food and drink excellent wine ! Our favorite village pub.
Paddy.P - Trip Advisor (29 April 2014)

Thank you so much for the amazing food and service last night. The whole group were commenting on the food and the lovely space and it really helped for a memorable birthday celebration.
Maxine A Smith (27 April 2014)

I have never been disappointed with the food or service in this atmospheric local. Cosy in winter with the roaring fire, and lots of outside space for those hot summer days.
Naomilyons - Trip Advisor (15 April 2014)

Thank you so much again for an amazingly fantastic day out. I still can't believe how lucky we are to have the best pub and golf course in the area all within half a mile from my house!
Ellen Walton Fermie (11 April 2014)

On Saturday 15th March, my Fiance and I had our engagement party at this pub and everyone had an amazing night. We asked for a couple of things from the buffet menu to be made into Canapes and this was accommodated with no issues at all. Everyone LOVED the food and the atmosphere was brilliant. We were placed in the private restaurant area so we also had access to the patio which was absolutely amazing. I cannot fault the night. We had one of the best nights ever and our guests enjoyed it just as much as well. The staff let us be, we weren't bothered at all which was great and whenever we needed any help from them, they were always willing. Thank you so much to the manager Nick for putting on such an amazing night for us.
Stefanie M - Trip Advisor (17 March 2014)

We found this lovely pub after a walk at Claremont Landscape Garden. Never been there before but hope to visit again. As an earlier reviewer wrote it is not easy to find a good pub that allows dogs into smart doing areas but this was an exception.
We had bangers & mash (£11.50) and an excellent beer I had not tried before called Daisy Gold (4%) from the local Brightwater Brewery in Claygate. The service was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend this pub to others.
David S - Trip Advisor (11 March 2014)

Hare & Hounds Portuguese Wine Dinner
What a fantastic dinner it was! Excellent food, great wines. An informative value for money evening. I would recommend looking into the next event. Well done Nick. We had a selection of food accompanied by a variety of complimentary wines. Canapés, melon and smoked ham on arrival with three different wines to taste. Octopus stewed in red wine with another complimentary red. Wine and garlic marinated swordfish accompanied with yes, yet another wine, followed by pork and clams with coriander and you guessed it another wine! To end the evening a cheese course with a beautiful tawny port. Tastefully presented with just the right amount at each course. What a culinary delight. Thank you to Nick and his staff for making a dull January evening such a pleasure.
Mary Marshall (Trip Advisor)

“Always impressed”
My husband and I have been to the hare and hounds on various occasions to eat and never been disappointed, would highly recommend. Good quality food, lovely staff and great to have such a lovely pub in the village.
(Katy018, Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile) (Trip Advisor)

“Shamazing”
Have been popping into the Hare and Hounds regularly since last summer and have to say the service friendliness and food just get better and better. The party they held on New Years Eve was excellent providing a free disco plenty of staff serving at the bar and a tremendous atmosphere as well. Always look forward to an evening here Top drawer.
(Rosina5, Reviewed 4 January 2014) (Trip Advisor)

We have spent quite a bit of time at The Hare and Hounds over the festive season! and all of it has all be great. We spent a wonderful Boxing Day the Morris Dancers were brilliant and the atmosphere was fantastic! Afterwards Aaron Norton played his guitar and sang some wonderful songs the place was electric with many people of all ages singing and dancing along. Yesterday we were invited to a birthday lunch and again we had a fab time. The food and wine was very good and as a vegetarian the chefs were really flexible and cooked me a lovely veggie roast. Many thanks to Nick, Vero and team you are all doing a fantastic job.

“A great place for a party”
We booked The Hare & Hounds for my Mums 90th birthday party in December and had a fantastic time. The food was great and we had been helped with the choices of the various menus on offer when we arranged the booking. We were greeted by a lovely smiling waitress with glasses of mulled wine which was very warming on a coldish day. The whole experience was very good and would recommend highly. The staff were very pleasant and eager to please.
(dazedconfused26, Reviewed 29 December 2013) (Trip Advisor)

To every one who helped look after that large party by the window, with all the kids, today!
Thank you for your patience, kindness and consideration! Best wishes to you all for Christmas.

From Stuart, and all his relations, cousins, second cousins, and even some third cousins present today!
(Stuart, December 2013)

Hi Nick Thanks for the lovely lunch yesterday. We all enjoyed it and you were right - the soup was delicious! Kind regards.
(Jane, December 2013)

The Kingston Medical Dining Club met for our November meeting in the Auberge Restaurant. There were 26 of us and took over the venue for the Friday evening. It was an exclusive black tie meal and from start to finish the evening was fantastic. Planning the meal with Nick was easy with some good suggestions about the available wines. On the nigh little of the sound from the pub reached us in the restaurant with the new doors, even with a musician playing. We had four courses and the food was excellent throughout. The service we received from the staff was charming, courteous and attentive right down to a sudden menu change we needed to make on the night. Every member of the club expressed their appreciation for the evening and the best testimony of our time was the constant general hum of great conversations around the room all evening. We shall be coming back as a club, of that I am sure. Thank you.
(Peter Willson, November 2013)

"venue and food truly exceeded all our expectations"

Dear Nick & Veronique,
My husband and I recently celebrated our two sons's christening at your pub, and the venue and food truly exceeded all our expectations. Thank you!

I would now like to enquire regarding children's birthday parties, as I saw you are advertising for them on the board outside your pub.
Kind Regards,
Natasha McLachlan
(Natasha McLachlan September 2013)

"Epic Sunday Lunch"

A charming local pub, with well kept decent ales (as well as a landlord that knows his good draught lagers and ciders) and perhaps the best Sunday roast available anywhere. As well as being one of the best value Sunday lunches too.

Steak nights are also great value. Well worth a visit, especially when the sun is shining out on the large terrace.
(Peter F. Visited May 2013)

Everyone needs a local and since the Foley Arms was extended into a giant wine bar the H&H has lost its position as my joint favourite Claygate pub to take top spot! Please don't change it or stop piling logs on the open fire in favour of pristine new tables and ornaments that kids will surely smash! Keep serving your fabulous fish and chips with the best mushy peas and please keep smiling and making us feel welcome. A sunday afternoon reading newspapers in the pouring rain or a sunny day in the garden during summer are equally enjoyable at this village pub just 2 miles from London.
(David Williams - Visited April 2013)

I have been going too Hare and Hounds for over 7 years. It is a good English pub with a great atmosphere and terrific ambience.
The pub has very pleasant seating outside, and in good weather is entirely attractive with hanging flower baskets, in the centre of an attractive village square. I sat there yesterday with a couple of old friends from Ukraine, enjoyed the sun and the well kept beer, I had the Bombadier a truly good pint, They have a good selection of traditional ales and lagers, supported by an excellent wine list liquers and spirits. The bar food has a varied menu, with steak night, curry night, kids menu and, a Sunday roast menu. The daily menu has a dish to suit all tastes well prepared, served by smiling pleasant and helpful staff.
Nick is a good landlord of well known repute, its as pleasure always to come back to the Hare and Hounds for a drink, a friendly chat and on some evenings good live bands playing music people like to hear. It is always advisable to have a reservation especially on steak , curry and Sunday lunchtime.
I would recomend this pub to anyone, they allow kids and dogs that are kept under control, the essence of your village pub.
(Fred Finn, 16th February 2013)

We called into the Hare & Hounds today (10th Feb) because we were looking for a dog friendly pub. The pub was great...very warm welcome, friendly people (customers and staff) and the food was very good (I recommend the roast). We will certainly be going back again!
(Peter Guyan, 10th February, 2013)

"Superb meal. Great atmosphere. I had the sausage and mash, fantastic. Must have a good meat supplier. "
(Brian Stuart, 28th December 2012)

"Just a line on behalf of the 'London Group' who dined today, 20th December, at the Hare & Hounds to celebrate Christmas. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and thought we'd pass on to you some of the comments....so here goes:-
" What terrific value!"
"The staff were so friendly"
"The ambience and atmosphere were fantastic"...."the table arrangement was excellent for conversation"
"The food was delicious"...."beautifully cooked"...."so well presented"..."sensible portions"......"really good"
"How nice to have proper serviettes and not paper ones"
"The tables were decorated to give us a real Christmassy feeling"
"Can we come again?"
So all in all, thank you Hare & Hounds for giving us a brilliant lunch. "
(the 'London Group', 20th December 2012)

" I just wanted to pass on Frith and I's thanks for your efforts on Sunday. The room looked great and the food was amazing. The kids' enjoyed a very special day and we were very impressed with the service provided at The Hare and Hounds. Please pass on our thanks to Nick and all of the staff who assisted on Sunday. "
(Emma and Frith Wood, 14th November 2012)

" Fantastic lunch the other day. Really tasty. Freshly cooked. Will return "
(Allison Day, 10th November 2012)

" I'd appreciate you passing on my sincere thanks to Veronique, Luke and other staff members (sorry not to be able to name you all) who served us so well last night. I heard nothing but praise from the friends I'd invited for our informal get-together, the majority of whom hadn't visited the Hare and Hounds before. 
The atmosphere was relaxed, but lively (in a positive way!) with us one end, a party at the other end of the building and lots of other customers in the middle and it was clear you were kept very busy, but no-one felt ignored. The food was excellent, particularly the risotto and tartiflette. It was exactly what I'd hoped for when I first considered planning the evening, so I'm now really looking forward to organising other similar events with you in the future. "
(Kind regards, Jackie Leedham 2nd April 2012)

" A party of six took lunch recently and all were very pleasantly greeted & seated promptly on arrival. The service was good but not hovering. The staff were polite & friendly. But best of all was the food. The menu covered all tastes & pockets. Absolutely delicious food. My choice was mussels - the best I've had since Belgium. Sea food lovers must try."
(Terry Bryant 30th March 2012)

"Just to say what a brilliant time we had yesterday both at the Probus lunch which was absolutely delicious from start to finish with excellent, friendly service throughout, and at the Wine Dinner when all of the above also applies. Many thanks indeed to you, your Chef and all your staff. "
(Karen Stafford 21st March 2012)

"Just to say that I and three others had a perfectly delightful evening at the Hare & Hounds in Claygate on Saturday evening where we enjoyed some excellent Old Peculier as well as a delicious dinner. Your staff, who did not know me at first, were perfectly charming, attentive and focussed and were a great credit to the pub, the company and the industry, we need more staff like that! The pub looked superb, busy and with a great atmosphere, I am very proud indeed to have my beer associated with such a flagship of a public house. Many thanks and congratulations to you and your team. With kindest regards, "
(Simon Theakston 19th March 2012)

"A lovely way to celebrate my birthday, cracking food and wine served with a delightful smile by the charming staff. Will recommend to all my friends "
(Beverley Bishop 15th January 2012)

"Service was brilliant, very friendly and welcoming"
(Alice Hiscoke, 7th January 2012)

"We enjoyed a delicious lunch, the staff attention was very professional and hit the right note."
(Tracy Little, Saturday 24th September 2011)

"We booked the H&H for our son's christening celebration - 30 adults and 10 children for a 3 course sit down meal. All the staff were so helpful, the food was superb, and it made the celebration very special. Thankyou very much."
(Jon, Sarah and Harry, Saturday 23rd July 2011)

"Went here for dinner in the restaurant, the food was really good, we had lovely starters and the presentation was lovely! Main courses were also good and desserts were delicious!
Would definitely recommend it for dinner! "
(Sabrina, Saturday 13th June 2011)

"Only eaten in the pub but the food is incredibly good. Have eaten a couple of times there, different food each time but always the same quality. Nice beers on tap and sociable bar staff. Definitely recommend "
(David, Saturday 8th March 2011)

"Just to let you know that I had booked a table at 2pm today for three of us to have lunch. Having never been to your pub before we were all impressed with the quality of the food and its presentation. Service was also very good and attentive. If the standard we encountered is the norm we will be back and will recommend your pub to all our friends."
(John W. 14th December 2010)

"It went very well yesterday, excellent food and service. Both Toby and Annick were impressed. The restaurant was full as well as the bar area. The pub is comfortable and cosy, ideal for wintertime."
(Martin. 17th November 2010)

"This was the third time we have had lunch at l'auberge. The food was wonderful, i never realised that pok belly could be so divine, followed by heavenly crem brulee. The last time we visited The Hare & Hounds we ate in the pub because we didn't have a reservation for the restaurant. Howver even the pub food was delicious. Service is very efficient and friendly. I'd really love to know the name of the house chardonnay we drank in the bar, so the next time we will order a bottle at lunch."
(The mobile food guide. April 2011)

"Visited the Hare 7 Hounds at Claygate today for Sunday lunch. We had booked a table for 2pm which was just as well as the pub was very busy. There were three of us, two of us had the roast beef and one the lamb. The meat was excellent and served with roast pots, Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower, courgettes, Swedes and carrots. Service was very good and attentive. The desserts were well presented too. Two courses were £14.50 and worth every penny for the quality. The pub itself is well decorated and clean, i would highly recommend."
(Beer in the evening. 14th November 2010)